Tide basketball headed overseas

MGN Online
MGN Online

Tuscaloosa, AL (WIAT)-The Alabama men’s basketball team will set sail for Europe on Thursday as part of their five-game European Tour.  The 10-day trip spans from The Netherlands, Belgium, and France.

Below is a full release, courtesy of Alabama media relations.

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The Alabama men’s basketball team will get an early start to the 2013-14 campaign as it embarks on a 10-day, five-game trip to Europe. The trip, which spans Aug. 8-18, will take the Crimson Tide to The Netherlands, Belgium and France.

Throughout the trip, fans can follow along with what the team is doing on a daily blog titled “Crimson Tide Brands Itself To The World,” which will feature pictures, videos and write-ups throughout the trip.

The Crimson Tide will play its first game in The Netherlands on Saturday, Aug. 10, vs. Meppel Red Giants at 6 p.m. Central European Time (CET)/11 a.m. Central Daylight Time (CDT). Alabama will then play twice in Belgium vs. Gembo (Monday, Aug. 12, at 8 p.m. CET/1 p.m. CDT) and Antwerp Giants (Tuesday, Aug. 13, at 7 p.m. CET/Noon CDT). The Tide’s final two games will take place in France when it squares off against Boulogne (Friday, Aug. 16, at 5:30 p.m. CET/10:30 a.m. CDT) and Rouen (Saturday, Aug. 17, at 3 p.m. CET/8 a.m. CDT).

When not playing games, Alabama men’s basketball staff and players will take tours of various historic landmarks such as the Ann Frank House Museum (The Netherlands), Van Gogh Museum (The Netherlands), Notre Dame Cathedral (France) Champs Elysees (France) and Versailles (France), among others places.

Fans can follow all the happenings during the trip on the blog, or by following @AlabamaMBB on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

blog comments powered by Disqus